art classes seattle
Established in 2007
by Artist/Educator
Janet Lia

Reviews

"Bright, Colorful, Supportive, and Fun"

5/5 stars
Lynn W
Seattle, WA
Review of ADULT BEGINNER DRAWING CLASS , October 27, 2010
I just finished Janet's Wet on Wet Watercolor class. It was so much fun and I am really looking forward to taking another class with Janet at AWE Studio.
Janet is experienced and knows what she is doing. However, she is patient and lets each student's process emerge, too. She provides the right balance of freedom and instruction. She is supportive without being condescending, and the classes were both stimulating and relaxing for me. I felt fully absorbed in what I was doing while I was there, and I can hardly wait to do it again.


Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator


write response

"An Eye Opening Rewarding Experience"

5/5 stars
Tony Shapiro
Review of AWE Studio, October 05, 2010
Janet Lia at AWE Studio has taken a 52 year old lawyer who could not draw a stick figure (Me) and turned him into someone who is now drawing charcoals, Pastels etc. I now appreciate lighting, shadows, brightness and form. These are things I gave no thought to before I started lessons with Janet. Additionally my appreciation for art has increased as I am beginning to understand the complexity of the process that real artists go through when creating beautiful art. 
I also find my art lessons with Janet to be a great mid- week stress break from my job. 
Janet is patient and encouraging but at the same time she lets me make mistakes so I can learn from them. 
I really look forward to my weekly art lessons. I only wish I would have started them sooner. I cannot recommend Janet and her studio highly enough.

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator


write response

"Thuper Awesome class"

5/5 stars
Hen3ry
Seattle, WA
Review of AWE Studio, August 14, 2010
in one week i was able to drastically improve my charcoal drawing skills! In addition to charcoal i also worked with clay, i highly recommend this class

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator
How was this location?: Awesome
How was the price?: Great value
I would recommend this teacher

write response


"Terrific Teacher"

5/5 stars
Jim Ruddy
Woodinville, WA
Review of Art Lessons, May 28, 2010
Janet Lia is a patient, encouraging, supportive and talented teacher. I've taken a group class as well as private lessons and highly recommend her, especially to someone who has never tried to create or who has not painted for years.

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Fun, Good communicator
How was this location?: OK
How was the price?: Great value
I would recommend this teacher

write response

"Very talented instructor and a great class!"

5/5 stars
Urania Perez
Seattle, WA
Review of ADULT WET-on-WET WATERCOLOR PAINTING CLASS , March 25, 2010
I have taken some drawing classes before in other places. Last month I finish my first class with Janet, a charcoal class, which was very good and I rediscovered my passion for drawing with the assistance of Janet. 
Now I am taking a Viel painting class which is more than what I expected. The studio is a place to thrive in creativitiy with the patient and encouragement from Janet. I love the class and look forward to go to my class every Friday. All the supplies are there available for us, Janet is an excellent instructor and I would recommend her to anyone who is interested in art classes.

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Good communicator
How was this location?: Awesome
How was the price?: Great value
I would recommend this teacher

write response


"Very fufilling work and a fun teacher!"

5/5 stars
Michelle Hanneman
Seattle, WA
Review of AWE Studio, September 01, 2009
I am a student in Janet Lia's private classes. I came to her studio thinking private art lessons would be a somewhat awkward and slow experience, but that was definitely not my experience at AWE studio. I learned how to use pastels, watercolors, and charcoal and completed 5 pieces in only about 8 lessons. I am going into 10th grade and just wanted to see what I could do with my artistic interests during the summer and working with Janet was a great way to do that. Janet is very fun and I felt like I had known her forever after the first lesson. She gave me enough guidance with my artwork that I wasn't lost or confused but I still had a lot of freedom in my work. She encouraged me when I was frustrated and everything always turned out in the end even if i didn't think it would. I was amazed with each piece that I brought home and couldn't believe that I did it by myself. The lessons were exactly what i wanted and a great summer activity for me. I learned much more than I expected and completed work that will last forever. The studio is very nice and the environment is very welcoming and comfortable. There are lots of supplies and Janet and I never ran out of things to talk about. I would recommend her to anyone, whether you are already an experienced artist, or have never done art in your life. 

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator
How was this location?: Awesome
How was the price?: OK
I would recommend this teacher

write response


"Amazing Experience"

5/5 stars
jhodges
Bellevue, WA
Review of AWE Studio, April 09, 2009
The Wet on Wet Art Class was the first art class I took by Janet Lia, and will hopefully not be the last art class. The class was an incredible joy to go to and Janet is a great instructor. She always provided help when you needed it but let the painting come to you. It was just a great experience and I always looked forward to the next class and what we would create.

write response


"Another wonderful class!"

4/5 stars
NatalieW
Kirkland, WA
Review of AWE Studio, April 06, 2009
I just finished my second class, at AWE studio... loved the class, fellow students and of course, Janet Lia, the instructor. 
As soon as I walk in the door of Janet's studio, I feel like I can accomplish anything. I can't wait to get back there!

write response

"Highly recommended"


5/5 stars
brooke hall
Seattle, WA
Review of ADULT BEGINNER DRAWING CLASS, February 15, 2009
This class was great. I really appreciate Janet's approach to teaching charcoal drawing. I have taken drawing classes before, and never really felt like I "got it". My understanding of shading, and texture was never fully realized, and I had previously become frustrated and given up attempting to draw for pleasure. Janet's unique teaching style and methods finally brought to light what I had been looking for. I cannot believe what I was able to accomplish in this class. I was blown away by the last two drawings we did and I still cannot believe that I was able to draw what I did. My confidence has returned and I am so glad I took this class.
The small class sizes, excellent feed back, helpful group atmosphere, and top notch instruction made this class really fun and rewarding. I highly recommend this class for anyone who has always wanted to draw, but was never really able to figure it out, or had a bad experience previously while trying to learn. You will be amazed what you can do with the right instruction.

write response


"Great Class!"

5/5 stars
brooke hall
Seattle, WA
Review of ADULT VEIL PAINTING WATERCOLOR CLASS, February 15, 2009
I signed up for this class having never painted and feeling rather intimidated. It turned out to be a wonderful experience. I find Janet's teaching style to be extremely helpful and straightforward. She is attentive, positive, and allows students to develop their own style and experimentation through a nurturing approach to each individual's creative potential. The classes are small enough that artists at any level from beginner to more advanced would benefit greatly from the one on one attention she is able to give to each student. 
I left this class feeling confident enough to begin painting on my own at home, and experimenting with what I have learned. This class surpassed what I was looking to get out of it, and I highly recommend it!

write response


"A wonderful art teacher whom I highly recommend!"

5/5 stars
Clare OConnor
Seattle, WA
Review of Art Lessons, February 02, 2009
Ms. Lia is a truly remarkable teacher who is an extremely talented artist herself. She is positive, patient, and encouraging and I highly recommend her for any individual seeking improvement in their art technique, or feedback on their portfolio. She is very experienced, and all around a fabulous teacher! 
Clare O'Connor

write response


"Great class... especially for beginners!"

5/5 stars
Katie
Seattle, WA
Review of ADULT BEGINNER DRAWING CLASS, January 22, 2009
I have only taken one other art class, and that was almost 10 years ago. This class is perfect for folks who want to get into (or back into) art, or who just want to flex their creativity muscles a bit. It's really a wonderful opportunity to enjoy art once again. 
The class size is small, which is perfect, and based out of Janet's cozy home studio. The class is a gentle introduction to drawing, shading, perspective and shape. Janet's style is really supportive and helpful. She makes everyone feel enthusiastic about participating and she invites a lot of collaboration and involvement. She gives great individual tips and is really encouraging of your own style and level. She meets you exactly where you're at. You'll leave each class feeling like it was time (and money) well spent. 
Oh, by the way... Janet really knows her stuff. Her style may be "non-traditional" in that it's not stuffy or formal or critical, but she's got an incredibly strong creative background. You'll absolutely be learning from an expert artist who's comfortable in many different mediums. 
I would absolutely (and will!!) take another class with Janet, and would recommend her to anyone looking for a fun and supportive art class. 

write response


"A place for creativity to thrive"

5/5 stars
elsie henderson
Langley, WA
Review of AWE Studio, January 22, 2009
Janet has been a mentor to me for 3 years now, helping me to create a portfolio for 2 different art high schools and now college. Out of all the teachers I have ever had Janet is the best and my favorite. When working with her she is always present and focused on you and your work, every aspect of her studio a feeling of support and inspiration. Janet's vast background and experience is apparent when you work with her. in each medium she has a wealth of knowledge to share along with a great deal of special techniques and secrets. When you work with her it is a guarantee that you will become completely immersed in your work, and it is incredible what you can get done in even the shortest amount of time. When working with Janet even observational drawing becomes great fun! If you wish to break out of an artistic rut, prepare a portfolio or make art for the joy of it you must visit Awe Studio!

write response


""Bravo!""

5/5 stars
JT84
Seattle, WA
Review of AWE Studio, January 15, 2009
Just the best! I consider myself not very "art oriented" but Janet can make you see and imagine in ways that inspire you to bring out your creative alter-ego. Her attitude and teaching style just make learning easy. My favorite is the studio which provides a very welcoming setting. More than an instructor, by meeting Janet you'll make a new friend as she is simply delightful to be around. If you're looking for art classes in Seattle, check out AWE Studio first!

write response

"I am Very impressed"

5/5 stars
Adele Brunell
Colorado Springs, CO
Review of Art Lessons, December 15, 2008
I am very impressed with Janet's teaching skills. Whenever I am in Seattle I make sure I have time for one or two private lessons. It is the best investment I have ever made to advance my artistic skills, and these are by no means the first art lessons I have ever taken. She is a truly gifted teacher, as well as a gifted artist.

write response
"I'm Really Drawing!"


5/5 stars
Joanne M
Shoreline, WA
Review of AWE Studio, November 29, 2008
After just three sessions of Janet's Charcoal Drawing for Beginners class I have learned so much. We have each already produced some pieces we can be proud of (I'm giving mine as a Christmas gift!) and I never thought I could draw at all. The atmosphere in Janet's studio is so supportive and it is a very fun place to be. I definitely plan to sign up for future classes.

write response


"amazing teacher"

5/5 stars
justin hardin
Long Valley, NJ
Review of AWE Studio, November 28, 2008
At first I came into these art classes feeling apprehensive but soon she made me feel very comfortable and I was able to express myself without hesitation. 
She also have me the tools I needed to develop myself as an artist. 
I would highly recommend Janet to anyone!

write response


"pastel landscape / watercolor underpainting"

5/5 stars
NatalieW
Kirkland, WA
Review of AWE Studio, October 21, 2008
The only bad part about the class, was that it ended. I can't wait to get back to Janet's studio and create more ART.

write response


"Fabulous art class! I am hooked!"

5/5 stars
Kimberly Johnston
Seattle, WA
Review of AWE Studio, October 21, 2008
I just finished Janet Lia's "Pastel Landscape Drawing" class and I found it so rewarding and fufilling that I have signed up for another class with Janet, "Beginning Line Drawing". This has been my first experience with taking an art class. I found Janet to be very welcoming and encouraging. She makes creating art so accessable. Janet has such a simple approach that I felt right at ease working alongside experienced artists. I can't say enough about my experience at the AWE Studio. I am hooked and will continue to take one class after another.

write response


"Pastel Landscape with watercolor underpainting"

5/5 stars
Gabi M
Seattle, WA
Review of AWE Studio, September 17, 2008
I have taken this class twice so far, and am about to take it for the 3rd time. Janet Lia is simply a fabulous teacher (see my review of the Charcoal Portrait class, I don't want to repeat myself) and this class is special to me because of working with the pastel chalks. 
Seeing the lines and fields of color grow into an image on the sheet of paper before me makes my heart feel like it is expanding. I love the experience of the corlors and textures, and Janet is masterful at finding ways to guide her students to make their image sing.

write response
"Charcoal Portraits"


5/5 stars
Gabi M
Seattle, WA
Review of AWE Studio, September 17, 2008
This was the 3rd class I took with Janet Lia. I had taken another portrait drawing class with a different teacher, and I ended up not finishing HIS class because it was so bad. I mention this only to give even more weight to my appreciation for Janet's way of teaching. I have not had much training and consider myself not talented, but Janet manages to get me to produce work that astonishes me. I feel only supported by her helpful comments, never criticized, even when she shows/tell me how to improve something in my picture. I have learned to be daring and work more quickly (as in "not overthink my next move", my phrase, not Janet's). I feel so comfortable and nurtured in her class, I wish I could go to class every week. I work hard in class, yet I feel energized at the end.

I'm Really Drawing!

write response
Joanne M
11/29/2008
After just three sessions of Janet's Charcoal Drawing for Beginners class I have learned so much.  We have each already produced some pieces we can be proud of (I'm giving mine as a Christmas gift!) and I never thought I could draw at all.   The atmosphere in Janet's studio is so supportive and it is a very fun place to be.  I definitely plan to sign up for future classes.


A place for creativity to thrive

1/22/2009
elsie henderson
Janet has been a mentor to me for 3 years now, helping me to create a portfolio for 2 different art high schools and now college. Out of all the teachers I have ever had Janet is the best and my favorite. When working with her she is always present and focused on you and your work, every aspect of her studio a feeling of support and inspiration. Janet's vast background and experience is apparent when you work with her. in each medium she has a wealth of knowledge to share along with a great deal of special techniques and secrets. When you work with her  it is a guarantee that you will become completely immersed in your work, and it is incredible what you can get done in even the shortest amount of time. When working with Janet even observational drawing becomes great fun! If you wish to break out of an artistic rut, prepare a portfolio or make art for the joy of it you must visit Awe Studio!

<div id="tt-widget-sky" class="tt-orange" style="width:238px"><div class="tt-middle"><img src="http://pictures-e1.thumbtackstatic.com/pictures/59/0q83lkciaaf0zfq3_100.jpg" alt="Art Lessons" /><h4><a href="http://www.thumbtack.com/wa/seattle/drawing-lessons/art-lessons">Art Lessons</a></h4><p class="tt-byline">by AWE Studio Art With Everyone</p><p class="tt-description">AWE Studio's motto is "art with everyone" because since 2007, artist and educator Janet Lia has been committed to helping children,teens and adults from beginners, intermediate and advanced students develop their artistic abilities. Visit her website to see current art classes,...</p><div class="tt-tagline"><a href="http://www.thumbtack.com/wa/seattle/drawing-lessons/art-lessons">AWE Studio is Art With Everyone!</a></div><a href="http://www.thumbtack.com/wa/seattle/drawing-lessons/art-lessons" class="tt-btn">Contact Now</a><div class="tt">Brought to you by&nbsp;<a href="http://www.thumbtack.com/wa/seattle/handmade-crafts/"><img src="http://cdn-1.thumbtackstatic.com/media/logos/thumbtack/padded-69x18-2.png" alt="thumbtack.com" /></a></div></div></div><script type="text/javascript">(function(){var ss=document.createElement("link");ss.type="text/css";ss.rel="stylesheet";ss.href="http://cdn-1.thumbtackstatic.com/theme/widgets/skyscraper/styles_2.css";document.getElementsByTagName("head")[0].appendChild(ss);})();</script>
Website Builder